De Hoop Nature Reserve high res copyright Scott Ramsay 175
Conserve. Explore. Experience.
Who we are

Who we are

CapeNature is the chief custodian of the Western Cape’s natural environment, and is governed by the Western Cape Nature Conservation Board, known as CapeNature (constituted in terms of Act 6 of 2021).

Western Cape Nature Conservation Board

As a Schedule 3C Public Entity, CapeNature is governed by a Board as established in terms of section 9 of the Western Cape Biodiversity Act, No. 6 of 2021. The Board is appointed by the Provincial Minister for Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning. The Board comprises seven non-executive members and is supported by Board Committees to ensure that the mandated oversight role and responsibility is exercised.

The Board is mandated to:

  • maintain effective governance of CapeNature;
  • ensure that CapeNature properly performs its functions in terms of this Act;
  • approve and monitor compliance with the policies and strategies of CapeNature;
  • provide strategic direction to CapeNature;
  • develop a board charter to provide for a code of conduct for Board members and for meeting procedures, and to regulate matters further relating to corporate governance;
  • identify and regularly monitor risk areas and performance in respect of CapeNature; and
  • advocate for the sufficient resourcing of CapeNature to perform its functions.
  • must perform its functions subject to any directives issued by the Provincial Minister.

In addition to this statutory oversight, CapeNature relies on the forging of strong partnerships with other role players and stakeholders in the public and private sectors, as well as the communities in the areas in which we operate, to drive a successful and sustainable conservation economy in the Western Cape.

Image related to website content

Our Executive Managers

Dr Ashley Naidoo, Chief Executive Officer, leads our Executive Management team.

Mr Mohamed Bhayat
Chief Financial Officer
Ms Coral Birss
Executive Director: Biodiversity Capabilities
Natalie Hayward
Executive Director: Conservation Operations
Mr Sheraaz Ismail
Executive Director: Eco-tourism and Access